When creating a course, selecting the Save as preview option allows you to "playtest" the course with a small subset of developers, get their feedback, and make any changes that will improve the course before publishing it to the broader organization.
For example, this option is ideal if you're planning to create a course for new hires or junior developers. You can create the course and invite a small group of more experienced developers to "playtest" the course so they can offer their feedback on the content and whether they think it's relevant to your intended audience.
- Playtesting factors time spent on the platform but ignores accuracy
- Courses saved as a preview can be edited regardless of if users are playtesting it
- Published courses with no participants can be reverted to a preview, which will then allow them to be edited
How to publish a Course in preview status?
You can choose the Save as preview option when you create the course (or edit a course that's still a draft).
How do I invite developers to preview a course?
Inviting participants to playtest the course uses the same participant mechanism as inviting users to a published course. Please refer to this article for more details: How to assign participants to a course.
Does this affect user metrics?
A playtester’s metrics are not impacted when playtesting and the user will not gain XP, however, 'time spent' is still recorded.
Playtesting a course allows a user to trial the course and provide feedback to the company admin so it can be edited or improved before being shared with a wider audience.
What happens when you publish a course from Preview?
If a 'preview course' reviews well and all the necessary changes or additions have been made, it can then be published. Once the course is published, the playtesters are removed, their attempts and data will be wiped and the regular intended users will begin to enrol.